Job Offer - Should I take it?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by SCTeacher23, Jul 13, 2015.

1. SCTeacher23

SCTeacher23 Comrade

Jul 13, 2015

Last week, I went on 3 interviews. 2 were permanent full time positions, but 1 was for a full year maternity leave. Well, I did not get either of the permanent positions, but I was just offered the full year maternity leave. I am very conflicted and need advice.

Right now, I have been working at a charter school for the past 2 years. There are some good things about it and it has been good to get experience, but there are a lot of things I do not like about it. There are a lot of thing that they do that are very different than the public schools.

I am so conflicted because I absolutely LOVED the school I received an offer at. I really felt a connection with the principal and the team of teachers that I met. The principal told me that although it is a full year maternity leave there is a very good chance of it turning into a tenure track position and he said he felt I would bring a lot to the team. He basically said he couldn't guarantee it turning into a tenure track, but there was a very strong possibility.

I am so conflicted because I feel like this could be my "foot in the door" of the district and I ultimately want to get back into a public school that I feel like is aligned to my teaching philosophies. I feel like it is difficult -especially in NJ - to just land a full time teaching position as it is. But, it is possible that at the end of the year I could be left without a job.

So would you take the position? Or stay at your current position?

3. Jess93

Jess93 Rookie

Jul 13, 2015