job hunt not certified/license

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by barronzp, Feb 16, 2016.

1. barronzp

barronzp Rookie

Feb 16, 2016

Hello, gang, I graduated a year ago, but I am still not working in teaching. I switched job fields from health care to a masters in science (secondary). I've worked with a tutor company and helped with the family business. I never got licensed after last summer when I didn't find work in the area. My search is national now.

I can't apply for a cert/license to every state that is on my list. At the Teacher Recruitment Day event this spring, if I am not licensed in a state, will I not be considered? It was my hope to complete the process after I knew what state I was to be hired in. What actions can I do to demonstrate that I will be able to easily get the cert if hired by a school in a state? Thank you for your support.

3. heatherberm

heatherberm Cohort

Feb 16, 2016

I think you're going to find that the certification issue depends on how much need there is in that state/city/district. In NY right now, there's generally tons of applicants for every opening and I can't imagine anyone moving forward with someone without certification in hand when there are tons of applicants who are ready to go. On the other hand, I went to a recruitment in Indianapolis and they offered me a job on the spot because they really needed special ed teachers although they also encouraged me to start the Indiana certification process ASAP because it tends to take a while.