Jealousy

Discussion in 'General Education' started by fuzzybunnie, Jul 13, 2008.

1. fuzzybunnie

fuzzybunnie Rookie

Jul 13, 2008

I have been blessed with a school volunteer who decided to make it her good deed for the year to help me spiff up my class room. In addition to helping me completely reorganize my books and materials (I am organizationally challenged, so it was a big help!) she bought me a $500 teacher station, a $200 reading circle rug, and a $300 desk. :wow: Now I have a fabulous classroom which looks much more, how should I say it, polished, fancy, well, expensive, than any other in the entire school. School hasn't even started and already I'm hearing jokes about the desk and comments like "I wish I had friends like you." I have been responding, "she bought those things for the classroom, not for me."

I've only been in the school a year and so far I get along with most of the teachers, but there is some jealousy because I got my Master's degree from a big name school and one of the teachers who has been very cool to me actually said "You act like you think we're stupid." :( (This came while doing editing work on our WASC documents.) Actually I respect and admire this teacher, but I haven't been able to get that across. I'm worried that this situation will create more bad feelings.:unsure:

Any comments or ideas would be very welcome.

3. alilisa

alilisa Habitué

Jul 13, 2008

I, too, would be jealous but at the same time so excited for you! How exciting to get some free stuff for you room and to get organized! I would be very envious of the organzational piece. I seem to be lacking in that department! The only time you see the top of my desk in during the summer when I am not there!! ;)

Congrats on the new stuff for your room!!

4. Pencil Monkey

Pencil Monkey Devotee

Jul 13, 2008