IVF While teaching

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Pinky12, Jul 26, 2013.

1. Pinky12

Pinky12 Rookie

Jul 26, 2013

Hello all.

I am a second year teacher, and will unfortunately have to undergo more IVF treatments come September. We have had several IUI cycles beginning in March 2012, with no luck. We had our first IVF cycle in June 2013 and no luck again. Due to issues with my cycles being linked, I will not be able to do another cycle until August. If that one fails, I will be doing cycles during the school year.

I'm very concerned as to how this will effect my job. When I did my cycle in June, I had to go to morning monitoring almost every day, making me 1 to 1.5 hours late to work every morning. The principal was very understanding since it was June, and we were mostly doing things like Field Day, trips, and other end of year activities. I'm not sure how she will respond to me constantly showing up late in the beginning of the year. I'm only a second year teacher and do not have tenure, and on top of that I teach a "testing grade".

This whole process of trying to get pregnant has been so emotionally and physically draining for me. I don't know why our IUIs and IVF failed. I want to get pregnant so badly, but I also have a huge fear/guilt trip about this effecting my job. The hardest part is seeing the little kindergarteners at school, and wishing I could have one of my own. I guess I'm just looking for advice on how to handle IVF during the school year from teachers who have done it before. Thank you for reading.

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jul 26, 2013

I admit to knowing absolutely nothing about IVF but is it possible to go in at a different time or does it have to be in the morning? If it has to be the morning, what is the earliest appointment you can get compared to when school starts? Is it possible to have your planning time first thing in the morning?

Those are my completely uneducated thoughts!

4. MrsC