I've lost hope

Discussion in 'General Education' started by meeper22, Aug 9, 2011.

1. meeper22

meeper22 Companion

Aug 9, 2011

I have honestly lost hope in ever becoming a teacher.

I've passed all the FTCE exams, I've taken the required coursework, I just never got a chance to get a job as a full-time teacher.

I've been a substitute teacher for 2 years, going to enter a third year...nothing.

And apparently everything I've done as a sub doesn't matter.

So yeah, that's it, I'm through cause I can't put anything else more for my statement of eligibility without getting a job which no school is giving me a chance. So bye.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

Are you willing to move to another state?

4. kimberlyalice

kimberlyalice Rookie

Aug 9, 2011

Don't give up, it's a new year! Have you tried your local private schools? I was a sub for my local district and was hired as a classroom teacher. It took getting a "interim" position for a teacher on maternity to get the offers. Anyway, you should go to your local private schools and ask to get on their sub list, there's a listing here: www.fcis.org
    Our school hires our subs when positions open up and for some reason the district hires them away from us, too. So we are always short on subs. Good luck!

5. MissCeliaB

MissCeliaB Aficionado

Aug 9, 2011

What are you certified in? Could you add an endorsement to make yourself more marketable? Also consider moving to another area or state. I have friends who graduated with me in Florida six years ago and only got a job last year. The market is very frustrating in Florida. Don't give up!

6. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 9, 2011

Have you posted your cover letter here? It may be as simple as changing it so someone is interested enough to call you in for an interview.

7. chebrutta

chebrutta Enthusiast

Aug 9, 2011