I've got 2 MASTERS degrees and can't find a job PLEASE HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by 2masters@nojob, Jul 30, 2007.

1. 2masters@nojob

2masters@nojob Rookie

Jul 30, 2007

I have a Master's degree in Rhetoric and Composition, and I am completing an MAT elementary program. I have been teaching college composition and developmental courses part-time for the past 4 years, I substitute taught for 1 year, and I took over a high school English position for 1/2 of last school year. I have submitted my application to schools in three counties, but have only gotten one call for an interview. What can I do to market my skills and experience?

3. teacherece

teacherece Cohort

Jul 30, 2007

Wow...what grade are you looking to teach? Most schools looking for a new teacher won't hire someone who alread has their masters' because it puts them way to far laterally on the scale. I'm waiting to get tenure before starting my program. Good luck though!

4. collteach

collteach Comrade

Jul 30, 2007

Several of my professors in college warned us about having "too much" education prior to acquiring our first teaching position. Perhaps you need to have some elementary teachers look at your resume' and help you with a mock interview to see if there are areas in which you could improve for the elementary market. The fact that you taught college and high school may actually work against you. I have met several teachers who went from high school to elementary, and most were fabulous, but a few expected their elementary students to be like little adults. That could make some principals nervous, as there is a huge difference between teaching at the secondary level and the elementary level. Heck, I moved down from 7th grade to 4th grade and it was a big change.