Its my first year and I need help!!!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by alteacher84, May 25, 2006.

1. alteacher84

alteacher84 Companion

May 25, 2006

I will be teaching at a private school in the fall. The principal is in the process of moving some teachers around and I will either have a position in 2nd or 3rd grade. I need to know what kinds of materials I will need to have to stock my classroom and make it fun and inviting. I won't be getting much po money so most things will be bought out of my pocket so if there is a cheap or cheaper way to do something please add that too! Also if you have pics or ideas for classroom setup that would be helpful!
    Thank you so much!!
    Amanda

3. lnewbigging

lnewbigging Companion

May 25, 2006

Congrats on the job!!
    Make sure you check out the other threads for ideas, there are a lot of them pertaining to your questions!

For grade 2/3 books are an essential. Picture books as well as beginner novels.Good read alouds are also nice to have. They love to be read to at that age.

Walmart is a great/cheap place to buy school supplies/games. Also check out garage sales, you can get books and games there for cheap.

For classroom layout ideas you can go to mspowell.com She has pictures of her classroom on her site, as well as some great info.

Having a cozy reading corner is nice too. Buying cushions or bean bag chairs helps to do that.
    Hope this helps!

4. KatieS

KatieS Rookie

May 25, 2006

Do you have an Ikea nearby? I just bought a TON of things for my classroom there and they have great deals. I got and easel, loads of storage containers, pencil cups, about 8 pair of scissors, artwork for the walls, some fabric for curtains, and some other small things all for $60. They also have really cute chairs for $12 and huge bean bags for $40 that would be good for a reading corner.

5. Erin Elizabeth

Erin Elizabeth Groupie

May 25, 2006