It's just one student

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Social Studies 07, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Social Studies 07

Social Studies 07 New Member

Feb 16, 2016

I have been teaching middle school for 9 years now, have excellent classroom management, and my students are well behaved due to my strict, no non-sense policy that has been established in my classroom. All but, one student! I will refer to him as Student A. Student A is extremely disruptive, defiant, and non-supportive of his peers. For an example, he blurts out loud, laughs at students when they stumble over words they cannot pronounce, and seeks attention regardless if it is positive or negative. After meeting with his mother she informed the middle school team that her son (Student A) is indeed ADHD. Since knowing this information about him I have changed my approach on how to deal with him in the classroom. In other words I tolerate a lot of his actions and behavior due to his ADHD. However, it is becoming a bit overwhelming. It is February and tomorrow will be his mother's 3rd time having a meeting with the middle school team. Our meeting are pretty much the same. We discuss his behavior and she promises to have a talk with him. She refuses to medicate her son, which I completely respect, but again his behavior is impeding the learning process in my classroom. The straw that broke the camel's back was last week when he purposely burst his ice pack in the middle of me teaching and dripped the water on the student (Student B) sitting next to him. I thought Student B was raising his hand because he had a question regarding the lesson, but he was raising his hand to ask me for a paper towel. As an educator I am sure we can all relate as to how annoying it is when a student raises their hand to ask a question and it has nothing to do with the lesson. I spent 10-15 minutes dealing with this situation. Student A got into trouble the two remaining days of the week. These incidents have resulted in a w