it really isn't you!!! (read my story...)

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by merigold78, Aug 26, 2007.

1. merigold78

merigold78 Cohort

Aug 26, 2007

hey guys! i know many of you are probably starting to get down on yourselves about not having a job (or in my case, a better job) for this next year. i wanted to post a few things that have happened to me recently...hopefully this will make you feel a little better. i think many of us just have to understand that so much of the job search process is out of our control. so here goes...

many of you already know my story so i'll give everyone else the short version! :) i graduated 4 years ago, have taught in several diff. schools (mainly charters, head start for 1 yr)....but cannot find the job i really want. every year i crank out the applications/resumes-and am lucky if i get 1 or 2 interviews. i don't know why, but i always end up being the first runner up. i am told that i interview well and am usually "beat" by someone w/(specific) grade level experience. i think this is crap.

so this summer it was the usual. i had 3 interviews (2 in the same district)....and was the first runner up for a k position. i was so mad and discouraged when i found out i didn't get it-i know i could have done the job, and done it well!!

anyhoo, this past week i attended a meeting for my current sch. i received not only a bonus check for my outstanding test scores, but also the 'teacher of the year' award!! i was so excited about all of this...it re-affirmed the fact that i not only love what i do-i'm also really good at it! it also left me feeling sorry for all the public sch. that missed out on hiring a great teacher like me.

so chin up everyone! i cannot honestly say that all public sch. are hiring the wrong people...but i know that some definitely are. i hope that myself and all the other AMAZING teachers out there will soon find jobs w/districts that are worthy of such skilled employees. have a great school year, everyone!!