Is Your Staff Overwhelmed Right Now?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by YoungTeacherGuy, Dec 6, 2012.

1. YoungTeacherGuy

YoungTeacherGuy Phenom

Dec 6, 2012

My goodness...there's SO much going on right now. We had a staff meeting yesterday and everyone left feeling more deflated than before. We knew it wasn't going to be a positive meeting when my principal started out by saying, "Please don't shoot the messenger! This is coming from the D.O." She didn't really need to say that, though, because we all knew that the things she was sharing were coming from the top.

When we had our grade-level meeting, people seemed short-tempered and snappy with each other. That's really not the norm for us.

I guess we all just have a lot on our plates right now (they're overflowing, actually).

How's your staff doing?

3. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Dec 6, 2012

About the same. I'm still new to my school so I'm pretty zen about these things and am going with the flow without saying anything. But there are a lot of unhappy teachers, and from what I can see, pretty horrendous changes that they are trying to inflict on the school.

4. scholarteacher

scholarteacher Connoisseur

Dec 6, 2012

Yeah, they extended our school year by 5 days, took away all our "work in your own room" work days but 1, extended the report card to 8 pages per child, extended the school day by 1 hour, and no pay raise to reflect the changes. They have trained us on common core till we're beating a dead horse. So I know what you mean. Good thing I love my school, students, and teaching so much! :)

5. knitter63

knitter63 Groupie

Dec 6, 2012

In the same boat. Overwhelmed, frustrated,snappy with each other and many unhappy.
    I love my class this year, so I am keeping to myself as much as possible.

6. Ranchwife

Ranchwife Companion

Dec 6, 2012