Is WGU accepted?

Discussion in 'Student & Preservice Teachers' started by Mrs.Christie, Sep 12, 2008.

1. Mrs.Christie

Mrs.Christie Rookie

Sep 12, 2008

I have an AA degree and I'd like to complete a BA in elementary ed. with certification. I was all set to enroll in a night program offered through a state college, but I can't start until next fall...then I read about WGU.

I have to admit I'm leery about online universities. I know it is non-profit and accredited, but are you finding that school districts accept their degrees? Specifically WGU's BAs? I would hate to spend the money and time only to find out that no one will hire me because they don't think highly of it.

I plan to call some of the local school districts and speak to HR people about it, but in the meantime sharing your thoughts on the degree acceptance would be most helpful. Thanks!

Oh, btw I live in Seattle, WA and will be looking for employment here as well.

3. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Sep 12, 2008

I have never heard of any problems with alumni getting jobs or our degrees being accepted as any other brick and mortar school would be. there are MANY of our student teachers who are long term subs and teachers of record. I'm student teaching now and my school hopes I will teach there when I am done. I hear that quite often with the students in my cohort seminar.

Most people - from what I've heard/seen with other students/alumni - do not care that we're an online school. Check out the WGU student Hall -- there are a few alumni on there still and will be able to give you a more personal experience.

I would not worry about them not accepting a WGU degree, personally I feel our degree is harder to attain than a regular school's.

4. Ms Z

Ms Z Companion

Sep 14, 2008

I agree. I called my state DOE to see how it would work for me and they said there would be no problem

5. Cateacher2b

Cateacher2b Companion

Sep 15, 2008