Is this normal?

Discussion in 'Third Grade' started by newbie23, Sep 16, 2009.

1. newbie23

newbie23 Comrade

Sep 16, 2009

This is my first year with 3rd grade but I've had experience with 1st and 2nd.

I'm amazed by some of the things that my students don't know. I have relocated a bit so perhaps some if this could be attributed to the area but I wasn't prepared to start from scratch with some of these things.

- Home Address. Students don't know their home addresses (not much transiency in the district either, most students have lived in 1 home since birth). I just worry a.) what if the student gets lost, kidnapped, etc. and doesn't know how to tell the police where they live.

- Phone number. Maybe with cell phones being more popular, home phones have gone by the wayside.

- Birthday. Some of my students don't know the day they were born on and most have trouble knowing which year.

- The order of the months. I still have students who think November comes after August.

Is this typical? I know that I will always have a few students lacking some of these "basic" skills but I wasn't prepared for the majority of the class.

Any ideas?

3. Loomistrout

Loomistrout Devotee

Sep 17, 2009

Many years ago there was a program, Basic Skills, which emphasized the nuts and bolts of every day living - how to read a bus schedule; phone book; use reference works/library; address an envelope; count change etc. Of course, other countries passed us in math, reading, science so emphasis shifted to academic disciplines. Kids could find the area of a polygon but not their way home.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Sep 17, 2009

That seems normal to me. In my district, those things are not included on the state assessments, so they are not taught.

5. ecsmom

ecsmom Habitué

Sep 17, 2009

Many of these are listed in our new Kindergarten standards so maybe the trend will swing the other way.

6. corney

corney Companion

Sep 17, 2009

BINGO!!!