Is this normal or should I speak up?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mrs.Giggles, Sep 19, 2013.

1. Mrs.Giggles

Mrs.Giggles Companion

Sep 19, 2013

I'm a first year teacher, so I am still in the process of learning the many ropes of teaching.

There is a teacher in my school who works three days a week and she assists three of my students with reading. I truly value her help and appreciate what she is doing. However, whenever she drops off one of my students she ALWAYS stops me to quickly discuss what they did that day and concerns that she has.

I do appreciate the followup, but I'm really starting to strongly dislike the fact that she is ALWAYS interrupting my teaching to do this. I am still trying to teach my students to stay quiet when an adult comes in the room, but it is very difficult. I have even tried walking away from my door and teaching on the other end of my room, but she still comes towards me to talk. Today I was getting my kids ready for lunch, so I was very rushed with her. All I kept thinking was, "Can't you see I'm handing out lunch cards and demonstrating our line procedure?"

All of the other teachers who pull my students out email me with followup comments and/or questions. Is this normal to just have a teacher regularly interrupt you during teaching? I'm thinking of asking her if she could just shoot me a quick email, but I worry that may ruffle some feathers.

Thoughts?

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Sep 19, 2013

Talk to her before/after school, and just say, "I really appreciate the feedback, it helps me understand what my students need. Unfortunately, because of the way our schedules line up, I don't think that right when they come back is the best time to touch base. Would it be possible to set up a regular meeting time, or for us to communicate by e-mail?"

4. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Sep 19, 2013