Is This Legal?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Jacquelyn Peters, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Feb 16, 2016

I am a High School Physics teacher and I own a legal copy of The Martian. The kids keep asking about the movie because I mention it a lot in class to give examples because a lot of topics that we are talking about are discussed in the movie. Current copyright and fair use laws have been quite confusing for me and I was wondering if anybody here is familiar with them. If I were to show the movie in class to my Physics kids with a legal copy of the movie, will the violate fair use laws? Thank you!

3. Backroads

Backroads Aficionado

Feb 16, 2016

I want to say it depends on the number of students in the class. At some point permission is,needed.

4. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Feb 16, 2016

As long as it is being used for an educational, nonprofit purpose, most likely it falls under fair use:
    http://www.copyright.gov/title17/92chap1.html#107

Instead of thinking tons about that though, you'll want to talk to your administrators and/or colleagues about specific rules that your school or district have, though. They may have particular policies about the use of movies that you will need to follow, which may immediately make the decision for you.

Finally, you might consider just showing some portions of it, and not the whole movie - but that's more of a personal opinion, and you should of course follow your best judgement for what is appropriate as a part of their education while still also following your school policy.

Backroads likes this.
  5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Feb 16, 2016

For us to use a movie, it has to be owned by us (no Redbox, no streaming but actually owning the movie). And of course a lesson plan that goes along with it, permission from the P and permission slips if it's anything more than PG or PG13, not sure.

6. Obadiah

Obadiah Groupie

Feb 17, 2016