Is this a good reason to quit?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Miss J. Pre-K, Dec 14, 2008.

1. Miss J. Pre-K

Miss J. Pre-K Comrade

Dec 14, 2008

Okay, so things have not been good as of late at my workplace. I had started about a month into the school year, and the expectations for me were kind of glossed over. I'm a first year teacher working in a Headstart, and I guess I didn't realize how important cleaning was, because I recently was jumped on for not cleaning my room enough (ie, not picking up the trash can to mop under it, not moving furniture to vaccum under :confused:). I've also been jumped on because I don't do all the nitpicky paperwork like writing down every single time I talk to a parent. Which I counter with when, exactly, because I have kids in my room from 7:30-5:30, and I don't get a break to do paperwork. I came in one Monday and my room was totally rearranged, haphazardly, stuff torn off the wall and piled on my desk. My boss and her higher boss had come in over the weekend to "clean" and totally rearrange my room without my knowledge. While we had a meeting about that, I still feel like my feelings were totally ignored and they just bulldozed over me. I don't have interactions with my boss unless she is having a problem with me, which seems to be more than weekly, lately. I spent a long time (6 years) getting two degrees to be a teacher, and most days I feel like a combo janitor/social worker.

This was never a long-term job prospect for me; I had applied for public school jobs last summer and will be applying again this summer. Should I quit and sub in public schools the rest of the year? Right now I'm only hanging on for the kids, whom I love.

3. MsBee

MsBee Devotee

Dec 14, 2008

Wow! That would make me SO mad. I can't say if you should quit or not but that is disrespectful for them to do that to your room without talking with you or telling you.

4. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Dec 14, 2008