Is this a good grading style?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Tanner Thompson, Oct 28, 2016.

1. Oct 28, 2016

Ok im not a teacher but i didnt know where i could ask this so i came on here. Basically im a sophomore and im taking enriched english 10. My english teacher converts all grades to 6 points total... i dont know why she does this but for some reason all our grades go in as x/6. so its either u get 100%, 83.3%, 66.6%, or fail. I could get a 90/100 on a huge project and she would convert it to 5/6 which is a b- or something. Also she has the grades weighted which is normal (1/3 tests, 1/3 homework, and 1/3 whatever else). ive had her so far for almost 2 months and im starting to think she is a bad teacher. not to mention the amount of bias towards this certain group of girls. There are a group of girls in my class who suck up to the teacher and answer all the questions and she gives them better grades even if we did just as good as them (ex. only lets them work in group of 4 instead of 3, always picking them for reading our play or whatever, commenting that my friend didnt cite sources when the same girl didnt cite sources and still got a "Good Job!"). but thats not part of it, im just asking if you think this is a bad or good way to grade, thanks.

3. GTB4GT

GTB4GT Cohort

Oct 29, 2016

this will be a "very teacher -like" response but here goes...I do something similar in my math classes. All homework grades are converted to a 10 point equivalent. The reason i do this is some sections may have 25 problems assigned. Sometimes I may assign just 5-6 if the problems are complex and require much more time. I consider all the work important so I want them to have the same weight.