Is there part of your curriculum that you just don't enjoy teaching?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by linswin23, Oct 23, 2016.

1. linswin23

linswin23 Cohort

Oct 23, 2016

I'm an English teacher and I don't really like teaching grammar. Of course I teach it, but this is my weakest point of teaching English--being why I don't like teaching it very much. I feel so much stronger when I teach literature and writing.

Do you have a section/area of your curriculum you just feel weak in? I know I've improved over the years in teaching grammar, but I still have so much to improve upon in that area of English.

otterpop likes this.
  3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Phenom

Oct 24, 2016

I detest teaching social studies. It's not that I don't find it interesting but my students are very low so everything has to be simplified and they do not understand most concepts in this subject. I do enough to get by but I don't do anything extra than required for it.

4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Oct 24, 2016

Future perfect verb tenses! It's quite complex for fifth graders, and they don't naturally use these tenses in their writing yet, so it's like pulling teeth.

5. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Oct 24, 2016

I hate forcing students to complete assignments that relate to reading in a way that seems designed to kill their love of literature. My school has pre-built curriculum that can be unengaging at times, to say the least. Thankfully, I have the flexibility to adjust the learning platform for students who start to shut down.

otterpop, linswin23, MrsC and 2 others like this.
  6. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Oct 24, 2016