Is there anyone intersted in looking at my cover letter?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Peachyness, Jun 4, 2009.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jun 4, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to read this. Any suggestions would be great. I still want to go to school full time, but I might as well at least go through the screening.

Dear HR chick,

I am interested in applying for a teaching position in ABC City School District. In my four years as a teacher, I have successfully taught at both ends of the elementary school spectrum. This year, almost all of my kindergarten students had reached either challenge or proficient on the end of the year benchmark assessment. My 2007-2008 fifth grade class had shown remarkable improvement in their reading assessment scores and in their daily writing assignments. All of my students have shown remarkable growth and, above all, enjoyed their year in my class.

I will bring effective techniques in teaching styles and behavior management to any classroom in which I may be placed. For example, in my fifth grade class, I implemented a “classroom economy” unit in which students earned classroom money (“Tiger Bucks“) through achieving high grades on assignments and fulfilling classroom duties. This year-long unit helps to motivate students academically while encouraging character growth and good citizenship. In addition, I utilized P.A.T. (Preferred Activity Time) to teach students about time management skills. I also implemented Reader’s and Writer’s workshop where I conferenced with students daily to individualize instruction. This past year, I implemented an EDI method, TAPPLE. TAPPLE (teach, ask, pause, pick a nonvolunteer, listen, and effective feedback) helped my students to take a more active role in the classroom. Students became more aware of their learning and all students were expected to think. In addition, it held all students accountable for their education.