Is the Junior National Young Leaders Conference a scam, like Who's Who?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Peachyness, Apr 13, 2008.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Apr 13, 2008

I got a letter at school a while ago about being chosen as a highly qualified educator from the Junior National Young Leaders Conference. I never heard of it and was wondering if this was like one of those other scams out there. I don't plan on doing anything with this letter. I threw it away after getting it. Anyways, I already KNOW I'm a highly qualified teacher. :D

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Apr 13, 2008

Oh, and one more, it metnioned one of my colleagues names, it is misspelled. I had to laugh at that.

4. hernandoreading

hernandoreading Comrade

Apr 13, 2008

I would put it in the same category as Who's Who. When I get stuff from them, I nod, smile, and recycle.

5. RainStorm

RainStorm Aficionado

Apr 13, 2008

Many people, as young as 6th grade, attend. Many say they had a great time. That doesn't change the fact that it isn't really an "honor"....it is really just very expensive workshop/summer camp. It is totally a money-making business.

6. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Apr 13, 2008

It's a sad state of affairs when people are willing to pay for "honors". *sigh*

7. RainStorm

RainStorm Aficionado

Apr 13, 2008

Their "honors" cost almost $2,000! Plus you have to get to the location.

8. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Apr 13, 2008

That's just nuts. Real honors are given, not paid for.

9. Hamster

Hamster Comrade

Apr 13, 2008

My daughter started getting Who's Who's forms in 7th grade and by 8th grade she DID actually get a cash scholorship of $100 from Who's Who. Believe it or not. She really did.

10. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Apr 13, 2008

$100 or $1000? I thought they gave more than $100 to the winners?

11. wig

wig Devotee

Apr 14, 2008