Is teaching really for me?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by rtphillips, May 5, 2009.

1. rtphillips

rtphillips Rookie

May 5, 2009

I went into elementary education pumped to work with kids. I love kids, they make me laugh and have always made me feel carefree. That is, until I actually started teaching them. Not meaning to be boastful, but I have a lot of good character traits about me- I'm smart, energetic, fun, can make kids laugh, I'm a huge lover (of kids that is), athletic, musical, spontaneous, etc. But even with all the good things about me, I just don't think I'm cut out for this profession.

I'm in my first year as a third grade teacher and I seriously don't think I want to keep going after my 2 year contract is up. I've been looking at other things that I can use my degree for, but haven't found anything I think would be enjoyable yet. I'm miserable at my job because I have to take my work home with me every stinking day. There's way too much behind the scenes crap to do, and I am not a paperwork type of person. I don't have the organizational skills to do this job, and I am not disciplined enough to keep a well managed classroom. Oh I know all the theories behind it all, but it's just not me. I am a pretty smooth operator in stressful times, but I have been driven to the brink of anxiety attacks when I have to finally plan my next week's lessons. Yeah, all the older teachers say it will get better because it did for them- but they've all got the necessary traits to be a good teacher- organization, consistency, etc. I just don't have it, and I'm looking for a job that isn't the same every day. Not to mention that the pay stinks.

What else can I do besides working for a text book company? I just don't enjoy education. I have no passion for it anymore.

3. Rebel1

Rebel1 Connoisseur

May 6, 2009

Sorry to read this about what you are going through right now. How about teaching adults at community colleges?