Is teaching for me?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by Rousseau8x, Mar 15, 2009.

1. Rousseau8x

Rousseau8x New Member

Mar 15, 2009

Hi all, I'm new here :). I'm a first year student teacher, and so far I really like teaching. However, my first Teaching Practice has been with younger kids- the degree I am doing is to teach in high schools.

I haven't done Teaching Practice or dealt with teenagers yet. Basically I am wondering, how do you know if teaching is for you? Next year we go on teaching placement for a whole semester and I'm really nervous that I'm going to screw things up (in relation to classroom management issues etc!!!), because once I get nervous I just mess my lessons up. I am quite young (18) and from my own experience in school, student teachers/ subs/ young teachers got a really hard time. I don't know if I'm emotionally mature enough/ strong enough to handle the stress!.

Our new lecturer constantly repeats that teaching "isnt for the faint hearted" and that we have to know that we want this, it isn't just a vocation, its not like working in a factory etc.... but how do you know if it is what you really want?:dizzy: Sorry if my post isn't to the point (I realise I'm ranting/venting a bit), any tips would be appreciated though! Thanks:D

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 15, 2009

True enough that teaching isn't for the faint of heart, Rousseau8x...

.. and when the strong of heart have had it up to here with The Little Darlings of whatever age, be assured that they vent. And rant. And, in language polite or otherwise, inform the universe at large that the specs coded into the DNA of Child X just possibly should have been rethought and reconsidered and probably redone. What's more, a good deal of said venting and ranting happens precisely here, at A to Z.