Is teaching for me? First year teacher ready to Quit (Again)

Discussion in 'General Education' started by kg062007, Aug 21, 2013.

1. kg062007

kg062007 Rookie

Aug 21, 2013

Okay so, I have a biology degree and my first option is med school and I'm in the process of applying to med school now.

I thought teaching would be something I could do in the mean time. However, teaching is so anxiety provoking for me. After work I just want to eat loads of calories and sleep for hours. Because I sleep right after school, I get behind on preparing lessons and paperwork. I've taught 8th grade this year and quit after two days. Im teaching HS chemistry now and its a lot less stressful, but I still spend the days sleeping and the nights tossing and turning. I have taught chemistry for 2 days now on my third day of work (today), I called in sick because I didn't get any sleep last night and was in no shape to teach anything today. Im just hating life now. I know I am an introvert, but I didn't think I was so pathetic I could never hold a regular job. I honestly have never had to be at a specific place from 7-4 everyday. I can't see myself working full time. I have depression and I've tried everything to treat it. The only thing that helps is lots of exercise and sunlight, which have become absent in my life since teaching. I think maybe ill try a job working in nature, or working in research, something where I can be alone.

3. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Aug 21, 2013

It sounds like you have already made up your mind that teaching is not for you. If it's about time management, maybe some science teachers can help you out so that you aren't spending too much time on lesson planning. It can be time consuming, but shouldn't take up most of your evenings. You could always hold some of your classes outside as well. I know our chemistry teacher did that a lot last year.

4. nyteacher29

nyteacher29 Comrade

Aug 21, 2013