Is subbing really the best option?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by PenCelia, Sep 10, 2006.

1. PenCelia

PenCelia Rookie

Sep 10, 2006

Hey ya'll

I'm getting really nervous now because my money is running really low. I had been teaching in Va for two yrs and decided to return home to new england. The problem is that it is extremely hard to get a teaching job in this area. I was unable to find a teaching job this summer, eek This means I'm colabraing health insurance and subbing. I have also signed up for tutoring but no cases have come in thus far. The subbing is slow because it is the beginning of the year. I keep on looking at jobs in FL and think I could get a job there. It would relief the financial burden for now but my big question is: Is it going to take subbing in schools around here for me to get a job in this area. I have heard that for one position in this area they had over 180 applicants. I did the aide thing for two yrs before I moved to VA and that didn't seem to get me in. It is also hard to have another full time job too when you want to be available to sub. Do you think subbing will get me the in I need>? I'm getting really anxious about the money thing!

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Sep 10, 2006

To be honest, it really depends. I know that here it is very political and you have an advantage if you know someone. That is not always the case. I know some people who have gotten jobs by subbing. The fact is subbing doesn't guarantee anything. It will give you experience to add to the resume though. My best advice is to apply to as many districts as possible to increase your chances of getting a call. When I subbed, I had to look for another job with "after school hours" to make ends meet.

4. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Sep 11, 2006