Is Special Ed the right career path for me?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by Mike19, Mar 10, 2017.

1. Mike19

Mike19 Rookie

Mar 10, 2017

Hello everyone, I am a freshman college student at a junior college in Los Angeles.

Just a few months ago I posted to the Elementary Education board asking for information and advice. I've learned a lot about the teaching profession since then, and I've found myself on the fence between regular elementary teaching, and special ed teaching.

I wanted to just ask what special ed teaching is like (vaguely), and what exactly would be considered the "best" educational path towards this goal?

I do have firsthand experience in this setting as a student actually (I grew up with mild autism and briefly attended a private special ed school before going back to public school) and admittedly I really find myself drawn to giving back and doing something meaningful like this. And sometimes I think I'd personally enjoy it better than teaching general ed.

So yeah, to cut a long story short, anything you think I should know in my decision making would be very appreciated. :)

3. Special-t

Special-t Enthusiast

Mar 11, 2017

I suggest you do some observations at different grade levels and different SPED levels (mild moderate/moderate severe).

Raeyin likes this.
  4. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Mar 12, 2017

Please don't take this the wrong way, but my experience with even "mild autism" can make it hard to be a "people person", despite the intelligence level and capabilities to do the course work. My son had a student in his courses while in college who could intellectually do the work, while failing in the ability to connect or interact with the students. My heart broke for this student who was spending all this time and effort to acquire a degree, when he was almost certainly going to struggle to connect with the hiring committees enough to be offered a job.