Is it Realistic to Get a Teaching Job in New Jersey via The Alternate Route Program?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by sweetpea0504, Jun 11, 2015.

1. sweetpea0504

sweetpea0504 New Member

Jun 11, 2015

Hello - I am contemplating switching careers from the shipping industry to teaching. I have been working for 13 years as a customs broker - I have a BS in business economics and an MBA. I have been doing some research and it seems that finding a job may prove quite difficult. Wondering if anyone has gone this route? Did they find a job easily? Any advice?

Thanks!

3. RedStripey

RedStripey Comrade

Jun 11, 2015

It depends on what type of teacher you want to be. My friend got a job in March with an alternate route certification but it was for ESL and she is also currently working towards her Master's in Teaching ESL.

4. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jun 11, 2015

Science and math are your best bets. You have to be able to use your existing skill sets to fill a gap. Almost anything to do with business is high school, while bio, chem, or physics is in demand from early middle school on up. If you have enough math to go that route, then that could be a real positive. Yes, I was AR, but I took my depth in science and then just kept on learning, adding endorsements. If you don't want to put in the extra work, you might be disappointed. If you like learning new things, and the thought of more schooling excites you, AR can be a great way into the job market. If you don't want to keep learning, however, you will find it a tough go.

5. sweetpea0504

sweetpea0504 New Member

Jun 12, 2015

I was leaning more towards middle school and math and/or socaial studies. I have to do some more research because going back to school for my masters in education is not entirely off the table. Thanks to you both for your input.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Multitudinous

Jun 12, 2015