Is it possible to be friends with principal???

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Teachingtoo, Jun 1, 2020.

1. Teachingtoo

Teachingtoo Rookie

Jun 1, 2020

I'm a newbie teacher who recently joined a school during the second term (we're currently summer break though) . So far I like it, the environment, students, staff members etc. My principal is a pretty cool person. She's also so fashionable and poised. I'm into fashion and so I kinda look up to her when it comes to that. She's nice to me too, always smiles whenever she sees me in the hallway and says hello. But I don't know why, she makes me super nervous and intimidates me so much! I doubt it if she even knows she does... I'm really good at hiding my nervousness around people. Somtiems to the extent where I may come across as rude, nonchalant, or overconfident. Whenever she does her walk throughs and peeps into he little window, I freak out!!! Im not sure what she thinks of me

Anyway, I really admire her leadership, sense of style, and personality. I think she's a pretty cool person outside of school. I don't know, is it weird that I want to be friends with her even though I know she's probably 15 years older than I am. I have a thing of befriending older people, simply because I like the widosm and intellectualism they bring in a friendship. They give great advices, and have a unique sense of humor. I have a few friends that are actually in their early 40s. And we get along well. I make sure thar there is always that line of respect drawn.
    So is it weird to want to be befriend my principal?How do I stop being nervous around her, and how can I make small talks with her?

Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  3. whizkid

whizkid Groupie

Jun 2, 2020

No

4. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Jun 2, 2020

It depends.

I wouldn’t go into the job with the intention to befriend the principal. That makes you look like a suck up, and that won’t win you points with anyone.