Is it okay? Is this normal? Opinions, please!

Discussion in 'General Education' started by GAteacher87, Sep 5, 2011.

1. GAteacher87

GAteacher87 Companion

Sep 5, 2011

This may be an unusual topic (and remember, I said it may! I'm not sure yet just what is "normal"!), but I'm having this internal debate in my mind. I am a first year teacher, yet I am also someone who is prone to stressing and working way too hard and becoming too involved in school/work. I have truly been trying to enjoy my weekends and home time, so as to keep a balance in my life. I show up to work at LEAST an hour early every day, and I try to leave as soon as I can after school gets out. I try to make the most of my planning time and I am constantly working to determine how to best fit the needs of my students academically.

... Okay, ready for my (perhaps) unusual question? Well, I'm trying to determine whether I'm doing ENOUGH. I mean, I remember student teaching (2 years ago) as being the most difficult time in my life. I would get out of school, come home, grade/plan, and do work CONSTANTLY on the weekend. Now, I actually have time, I can relax, and I feel energized and GREAT. However, I know that this is unusual for a first year teacher. I'm not saying I don't get overwhelmed (because I do-- it definitely happens when I don't know certain procedures/policies or how to handle situations that arise), but I guess what I'm trying to figure out is this: Am I doing enough? Is it all going to pile up on me and blindside me? :eek: OR... is it just that I'm fortunate enough to be able to do what it is that I need to do in a SANE amount of time, despite my being a new teacher?