Is it normal to be exhausted your first year teaching?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by FT2012, Dec 12, 2012.

1. FT2012

FT2012 Rookie

Dec 12, 2012

I'm a first year teacher and I'm constantly tired. Before I started teaching full-time, I would have the energy to do a million things after work. I would go to the gym and run a few miles. Now, all I want to do it so home, relax and maybe grade papers while watching TV. I've noticed I have less energy to do what I use to love. I'm cooking less, working out less and even doing less reading for pleasure, things like that.

Is this normal your first year? I want to get my energy back.

3. Go Blue!

Go Blue! Connoisseur

Dec 12, 2012

Yes, that is as normal and common as it gets. I have been teaching for years and I come home exhausted everyday, either physically tired or mentally done.

I also like to run, but find that I don't have the energy to run after work. So, a few years ago, I started going to the gym in the mornings before work. I have to get up at 4 am, three workdays a week, which adds to my afternoon exhaustion but it ensures that I get my workout in and it gives me a burst of energy in the morning. 4 am workouts are not for everyone, but you might want to try it.

Good luck in your first year!

4. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Dec 12, 2012

I think it is because I can definitely relate!

5. myangel52

myangel52 Comrade

Dec 12, 2012

I am sure of it -- I am in my 5th year solid (6th year total) of teaching, and am still exhausted. :)

6. Ilovesummer

Ilovesummer Companion

Dec 12, 2012