Is it normal to be cussed out daily by students as a substitute teacher

Discussion in 'High School' started by taylor914, Mar 15, 2019.

1. taylor914

taylor914 Rookie

Mar 15, 2019

Not just throwing around the term "daily" like it seems "daily" but it literally is that often and sometimes, 2-3x a day, anything from f*** off to f*** this stupid n***a to every other expletive you can imagine being thrown my way. Literally appalled at how they talk & treat me as a sub. I walk in to seven hours of name calling and the most degrading talk I have witnessed in my life, and I was a cop for five years before this. Today it happened when I caught some girl taking pictures of me from 30ft away trying to be slick about it. That was her 2nd and final warning after I heard her use the F word earlier in the period. If I hear it once, thats a warning. Hear it again, theyre gone.

The HS doesnt seem to give a rats behind about it because they always send "security" to come up and get the student, who treats them like theyre all "buddy buddy."

What gives?

3. Ms.Holyoke

Ms.Holyoke Connoisseur

Mar 16, 2019

No, definitely not. I would find a different school.

4. Guitart

Guitart Companion

Mar 16, 2019

My last sub job was six-weeks at a middle school similar to your experience. Not normal, but sadly, some buildings choose to look past this language and consider it as part of their culture.
    I witnessed a mom being told by a boy to "suck my ____". He had a big grin on his face and was grabbing his privates. It was another boy's mom too! Even the talented & gifted students I had were more like "Entitled & Sassy". Thankfully, the school is now closed.

5. skyline

skyline Companion

Mar 16, 2019

It depends on the school. In my rural location, it's not very common. I could see it being a lot more common in city schools, especially at schools where the school culture allows it.

6. vickilyn

vickilyn Magnifico

Mar 16, 2019