Is it normal to be a poor educator during my first year of teaching?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Nov 18, 2015.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Nov 18, 2015

Hi, everybody.
    I'm a high school English teacher that was hired via alternate route. Getting the job was a blessing, but I have no teaching experience. I don't know how to make a lesson plan, how to effectively manage class time, or how to calm down a loud classroom.

I'm slowly getting there, but sometimes, I feel like a bad teacher. I got hired in September, so I had no time to prepare or reread any of the works that I will be teaching. :(

Will I suck less as time goes on? I want to do this for the rest of my life, but I don't want to suck at it. :(

3Sons likes this.
  3. mathmagic

mathmagic Enthusiast

Nov 18, 2015

(I'm elementary, but this is universal)
    If you are constantly/consistently reflecting upon your practice, thinking about what worked and what would better drive student success, you will become much, much better.

I'm in my second year, and while I'm far from "amazing", there are significant improvements in many areas of my practice, and that happened because I actively reflected and sought out advice/feedback/resources to figure out how to change what needed to change.

Hang in there! I'm slightly hypocritical saying this, but identify something each day that you felt you really succeeded with - even if it's a small interaction with a kiddo. You'll find yourself much happier, and you'll also be knowing what you need to continue to do in the future because you identified what worked.

Obadiah likes this.
  4. Peregrin5

Peregrin5 Maven

Nov 18, 2015

Short answer, I think: yes. Of course some people enter the classroom and are just naturals at it, but those are the few and the far between. Most of us are pretty bad at it and get better over time and with work.