Is it my race and age???

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by mykids1, Jul 19, 2009.

1. mykids1

mykids1 Rookie

Jul 19, 2009

Hi all,

I've been on several interviews...I know in this day and age, race shouldn't be a problem, but I'm beginning to wonder. Presently, I work in a school district as a teacher assistant. I'm currently looking for a teaching position. I can't just help myself that my race and age may be hindering my search for a job. I have two things against me - race and age (I'm in my early 40's).

Or is it really just not having enough "teaching" experience. Although I do teach as a teacher assistant, but I don't plan the lessons. Or I probably don't interview well.

For some silly reason, someone had told me that some school districts do not want minorities. Please tell me that's not so, and I'm just being paranoid. I'm in New York, one of the most diversified states, however I'm interviewing in upstate schools - just because of location.

For those of you who have been on interviewing committees, what do you think????

:help:

3. MATgrad

MATgrad Groupie

Jul 19, 2009

It's the market baby. People on this board have reported of thousands of applicants for one teaching position. I'm in Florida, the former teacher desperate state, there are hundreds of applicants for every position. There is simply an oversupply of teachers. The so-called boomer retirement crisis isn't happening and the colleges just keep pumping them out.

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jul 19, 2009

I think there are a LOT of white, young teachers, both experienced and inexperienced, also frustrated with the job search.

With the economy in a freefall, thousands upon thousands of teachers were laid off in the spring. So there are a LOT of people vying for each and every open position.