Is it ever a good idea to ask for help?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by english9teach, Sep 9, 2006.

1. english9teach

english9teach Rookie

Sep 9, 2006

This is my first year. When I started having problems with my sixth period, I asked some of the other teachers, my assistant principal and my principal for some advice. I ended up empty-handed (that's how I found this website) and now my AP acts like he doesn't like me very much. Perhaps he thinks I am a whiner? Is it a good idea to ask for help or should you keep your problems to yourself?

3. djmondi

djmondi Comrade

Sep 9, 2006

At my school, the assistant principal tells new people to let her know right away when they need help - she feels it shows willingness to learn from others who have experience and that it shows you know when you need help:)

4. Julie

Julie Rookie

Sep 9, 2006

absolutely ask for help! Don't drive yourself crazy. My advice, ask fellow teachers first THEN you can go to the AP or P with the problems and things you have already tried.

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Sep 9, 2006

Find one or two teachers in your school who have a solid reputation and ask them. Your dept chair might be a good place to start, but it doesn't necessarily need to be an English teacher. Listen to the kids in the hallways and the cafeteria and study halls, make note of teachers who seem to have well run classes as you walk by during free periods. Speak to them about your difficulties.

6. WrestlingMan

WrestlingMan Rookie

Sep 9, 2006

Mentor

Your school should have provided you a mentor teacher to speak with and trouble shoot. Also, I would hope there would be monthly new teacher meetings. My school did that and it helped me a bit.