Is it appropriate to ask for another grade when accepting a teaching offer?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by melissa lipstein, Apr 11, 2016.

1. Apr 11, 2016

I am a recent grad and have just been offered my first position for pre-k. The interview was for pre-k and kindergarten however I am more interested in teaching k-2. Is appropriate to accept the job and then inquire about being considered for the kindergarten position. How would I write this in an email?

3. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

Apr 11, 2016

I would do a year in the position you've been placed in, and then mention towards the end of the year that you'd be interested in changing grades.

4. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Apr 11, 2016

I agree with that opinion. I don't think it's appropriate to be hired for one position and then ask for another one.

5. LovetoteachPREK

LovetoteachPREK Companion

Apr 11, 2016

I don't know how plentiful teaching jobs are where you are at, but my first position was Pre-K and I took it because I needed a job. It was in a public school system and the pay was equal to a K-2 teacher (private systems can be different.) It wasn't exactly what I wanted, but it was great experience. If you like it there and you do a good job, I'm sure there will be opportunities to move up in the future.

6. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Apr 11, 2016

You are a first year teacher and should be thankful for a job. Take the job they offered--they saw something in you that led to them thinking you were a fit for pre-k.get your foot in the odor, do a great job, then see what possibilities open next year.

Last edited: Apr 11, 2016
  7. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Apr 12, 2016

Who knows? You might find that you never want to leave the grade you accept for your first job.

MrsC likes this.
  8. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Apr 12, 2016