Is getting a second master degree worth it, or should I just get additional courses?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by CTSpaEngTeach, Mar 3, 2015.

1. CTSpaEngTeach

CTSpaEngTeach Rookie

Mar 3, 2015

So here's the deal:
    I got my B.A. in 2013 (Spanish major, Linguistics minor), and right after that, I decided to get into teaching. Some people suggested a post-baccalaureate teaching endorsement, but I figured that a master degree would be a better idea. So I enrolled into an M.Ed. program (with a K-12 licensure), which I am really close to completing. Now, I am not an expert in all things teacher education, so I am trying to research and see what my options are.
    I have been thinking about trying to add credentials to my soon-to-be-conferred licensure in order to be more attractive to potential employees. My interests are Early Childhood Education and TESOL (or Bilingual Education), and I am searching for dual programs like ECE/Special Ed ECE or ECE/TESOL. My questions are:
    1-Should I try getting a second master in any of those disciplines, or should I simply get extra credits that would allow me to get additional endorsements?
    2-If I complete a second master degree that doesn't include any licensure, would that master be worthless when it's time to get an extra certification?
    (AM I making sense?)

I am quite confused with all the different options out there...

Thanks for any help!

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Mar 3, 2015

Go for extra credits/licensure at this point...whatever costs less...you want to be an attractive candidate without seeming 'expensive':2cents:

4. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Mar 3, 2015