Is finding a music teaching job particularly hard these days?

Discussion in 'Music Teachers' started by reddy84, Jan 13, 2011.

1. reddy84

reddy84 New Member

Jan 13, 2011

Hi everyone,
    I've been out of college for a year and a half now. I have my BM in Music Education, and have been on the job search ever since I graduated. I've had several long term subbing assignments, but no permanent jobs. I have been interviewed several times, but nothing has fallen into place. I'm feeling a little down and out, because I know several people in my field who got a job the moment they got out of college.

Is getting a music job hard these days, or is it just me? I live in the Northern VA area right outside of DC, just to give you some perspective.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 13, 2011

It's always been hard.

Most schools have one music teacher. My (Catholic) high school of 2500+ kids in grades 6-12 has a math department of 22 and a music department of 2. (Kids take math every day, every year. Our kids take chorus as 7th graders and as freshmen, and that's a couple of times a week, not daily.)

The economic situation isn't helping things, but Art and Music have always been tough markets.

4. Tutor

Tutor Comrade

Jan 14, 2011

Here in Ohio I know of 2 districts where the music teacher retired then was rehired by the district. I think that really sucks for those looking for a job! It's tough out there for all teachers...If you can't find a public school job, Catholic schools are always looking for music teachers. You may have to teach in more than one school to make any money however. Our music teacher has 3 schools...

5. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 14, 2011

I've certainly noticed fewer openings for music teachers in my district. Like Alice said, there just aren't that many music teachers at a school, even in great economic times, so your chances are already pretty limited.