Is any principal going to hire a pregnant teacher?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mommy1982, Apr 5, 2013.

1. Mommy1982

Mommy1982 Rookie

Apr 5, 2013

I have no full-time teaching experience and I am pregnant and due in late October. So it would be my first year. I'm in NY, where it's pretty much impossible to get a job in a public school, but last year I got many calls from Catholic schools. There is also a brand new public school opening up that I would be eligible to be hired at.

Thing is, I already have a soon to be 2 year old, it would be my first year and I'm not exactly looking forward to my first 2 months teaching ever being almost ready to give birth. I'm thinking most principals would pass on me, especially since I would be leaving for maternity leave right in the beginning of the school year and it's my first year, so it would be pretty stressful. I would be interested in maybe teaching later in the school year though. So, would you bother sending out resumes for the upcoming school year? Or just wait until mid-year?

3. Jerseygirlteach

Jerseygirlteach Groupie

Apr 5, 2013

The non-PC honest answer is that anything is possible, but it's going to be very hard for you to make them see past that. You also need to take into consideration what it's going to be like for you as a first-year teacher with a newborn and a toddler at home. I'm certainly not saying that it can't be done, but it'll probably one of the hardest years of your life.

Good luck, though! Do you have a sought-after certification that can increase your odds?

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Apr 5, 2013

Legally, they cannot discriminate against you because you are pregnant. As to whether or not it actually matters would depend on the individual principal. My principal would not care if you were to really impress her, but I know some that wouldn't consider you. (Of course it would be for a reason besides your pregnancy.)