Is an hour too far a commute for a job?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ElementaryRocks, Aug 11, 2013.

1. ElementaryRocks

ElementaryRocks Rookie

Aug 11, 2013

I'm a recent graduate and after not much luck on the job hunting front, I finally received an offer! It's for a full time 3rd grade position. The problem is, the school is an hour away from where I currently live and would be an hour commute every day. Financially, moving isn't possible right now so I'd have to commute from where I live if I took the job. Is an hour too far to drive for a job for a first year teacher?

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 11, 2013

Many people do it...load up your car with books on CD, pandora radio, podcasts. Pack a few healthy snacks in a cooler each day...teas, nuts, granola bars. Do a few practice runs before school starts during the hours you'd be commuting...depending on traffic flow your commute could be an hour, or it could sometimes be more...be sure to leave a little extra time for those traffic mornings (I have a short commute and occasionally run into the LOOOOOOOOOOOONG freight train that runs on odd schedules across my route!)
    Congrats on the job!

4. giraffe326

giraffe326 Virtuoso

Aug 11, 2013

I drove an hour my first year. It is not fun, but it is possible.

I know you mentioned finances being a factor, but you are going to spend a lot of money on gas. It might be cheaper to just bite the bullet. Something to think about :)

5. fratbrats

fratbrats Comrade

Aug 11, 2013

When I first applied for teaching jobs, I did apply for positions that would be an hour away. If I received an offer, I would have taken it! I luckily, found a position less than 2 miles from my house.

It will be a very busy year for you, but if you can handle it, "Go For It!" Maybe next year, you can move or find a position closer to your home, with a year of teaching experience behind you.