Inventive Spelling

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by cml88, Dec 15, 2012.

1. cml88

cml88 Companion

Dec 15, 2012

I love encouraging inventive spelling! I really think it does wonders in terms of getting kids motivated to write. However, being a new teacher, I do have a few questions about it…While my kids are writing, and sounding out all of the sounds, I often get the question “is this spelled right?” after finishing word. The word is usually spelled wrong (obv) but includes many of the sounds in the word, which I praise them for. My problem is I never know how to answer that question…I usually find myself saying “yes, look you included the e, g, and l (for the word eagle, for example)” However, my smarties come back the next day and say “my mom said this was spelled wrong”. But I feel like if I am always correcting them or being like “oh actually there’s an e after that” then I will lose their motivation to write.

I usually underwrite on their things later in the day when they are not around. I hate doing it in front of them because I feel like I'm just saying "how you wrote this is wrong, I'm going to re-write it the correct way".

3. MissScrimmage

MissScrimmage Aficionado

Dec 15, 2012

I usually say, "Write the sounds you hear, and then I'll help you fill in the rest." I always underwrite with them so I can talk to them about correct spelling, i.e. "There's a magic 'e' on the end of 'make' so 'a' says it's own name".

4. Mrs. Rubble

Mrs. Rubble Rookie

Dec 15, 2012