Introduction/volunteer

Discussion in 'General Education' started by North Fork, Apr 6, 2023.

1. North Fork

North Fork Guest

Apr 6, 2023

Hi teachers,

I have posted here already but have not made an introduction...

I live in Southern California and am currently a caregiver. Want to transition into the teaching field eventually. I still bike near my former Middle School and decided to volunteer there. I applied and was approved last week. Will be there a few mornings per week and the school is very close by... slightly over 1 mile away! I will bike there unless it's raining or very cold (see profile for a photo of my bike... 1969 Schwinn Sting-Ray Fair Lady).

Although a volunteer at the moment I was told it can be a paying position, at the front gate and lunch supervision. Of course, that would be better, a paid position. I would eventually would like to be a teacher's aide. That will take some time, though, because I have a High School diploma and an AA degree (Associate in Arts) but not a BA degree. Incidentally, I have read that some colleges don't require tuition for those over 60 years old. Best, though, to make sure the school I will be at accepts whatever college I choose (online college preferred). My two favorite subjects are science and health. Also PE/physical education since I do bike a lot.

I have read through the Middle School threads on this site. Very interesting; a lot of useful information.

See photo for the entrance to "my" school.

[​IMG]

North Fork
    (Tony)

3. TeacherNY

TeacherNY Maven

Apr 10, 2023

Good luck to you whatever you choose. You might not need to take any college classes to be a TA but some states require TA certification which involves some trainings or workshops and maybe testing.

North Fork likes this.
  4. North Fork

North Fork Guest

Apr 12, 2023

Thank you for the information. I will ask at the school I am at. And will post updates.

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

Apr 14, 2023