Introducing yourself to students...

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by hopscotch, Aug 17, 2008.

1. hopscotch

hopscotch Rookie

Aug 17, 2008

My first day of teaching will be this Tuesday (well, unless they cancel due to hurricane Fay, but that's a whole different issue! :eek:hmy:), and I'm trying to plan what I'll say for my "introduction of me." I know it's important to share a little about yourself with students, and I'm totally fine with that, but I'm wondering what's best to say and what's best to not mention.
    For instance, this is my first time teaching. I guess I should say that, but what's the best way to approach it?
    I'll probably talk about where I grew up, went to college, etc. Generic stuff.
    I was also thinking about showing a quick slideshow (4-5 pics on a powerpoint) of a few places I've traveled and of my cats, is that appropriate or too corny/personal? My husband is in one of the pics, is that a problem?

And lastly, what does everyone else here plan to share about themselves on the first day? It's almost here!

3. michelleann27

michelleann27 Cohort

Aug 17, 2008

I wouldnt even say you are new sometimes they take advantage of this. I just tell a little about my hobbies likes interests. I tell about my kids one I have in Iraq. And not much else.

4. bandnerdtx

bandnerdtx Aficionado

Aug 17, 2008

No, no. I wouldn't say you're a brand new teacher. Fresh meat and all... LOL.

I just tell my kids a few things about me: where I'm from, where I went to school, stuff like that. I found that it's generally more natural to tell them things about me as the year goes on and topics come up through class discussion.

Honestly, they don't want to know anything about me on the first day except a) how I feel about letting students go to the bathroom and b) how much homework will I assign. :D

5. hopscotch

hopscotch Rookie

Aug 17, 2008