Interviews this week-nervous!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Kellie McGrath, Jun 20, 2016.

1. Kellie McGrath

Kellie McGrath Companion

Jun 20, 2016

Hello!

This is my first time posting here but I have been a lurker for a little bit. A bit of background info-I have a BA in Secondary Social Studies Education but decided that teaching high school students was not for me. I worked for 8 years in a corporate job and sporadically took classes to complete a preliminary license in both early childhood and elementary. I have been a pre-kindergarten instructional aide at a private school for the past two years, but because of enrollment my position has been eliminated for next year. So now I am job hunting again. I am looking for a position in the elementary level at either a public or private school. I feel way more comfortable in the lower/primary grades but will consider anything through 5th.

This week I have received 3 interview requests-on wednesday for a 5th grade position at a public school, next week for a 2nd grade position at a catholic school and next week for a general enducation aide at a public 2nd/3rd grade elementary school. I have gone on a few interviews but always feel so nervous and that I do not show that I am a great teacher. Since I didn't student teach in elementary and have been in early childhood education the past two years, I am also nervous about not being able to have concrete examples for questions they might ask. I can definitely use some from the time I have spent in pre-k. I guess I just need any tips and encouragement you might have!!

3. Leaborb192

Leaborb192 Enthusiast

Jun 21, 2016

Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  4. Kellie McGrath

Kellie McGrath Companion

Jun 22, 2016