Interviewing tomorrow

Discussion in 'First Grade' started by kevmic28, Jun 24, 2012.

1. kevmic28

kevmic28 Companion

Jun 24, 2012

I am interviewing tomorrow for a first grade esl position. Can anyone post a few good questions that I may be asked. I know its summer and its late but I could always use a few pointers. My interviewing skills are not the best. So far I keep hearing elaborate more. Thats great but Im a first year teacher and dont have enough experiences to be able to talk on subject like an experienced teacher will. I will be giving a 10 minute synopsis of a lesson so I am hoping that will push me ahead of the lack of experience.
    Im not the normal college graduate looking for their first job. I am a 38 year old male. I retired from my first career and decided to go finish my degree and follow my heart to work with children. I am also a full time single father of a great 12 year young man.
    So how can I make myself stand out more?????

3. ready2teachintx

ready2teachintx Companion

Jun 24, 2012

My advice is to be positive & confident. Mention being able to be flexible. Hands-on learning & student centered learning (creating independence for the students as they learn). Have a behavior management plan in mind and discuss this. Also, ESL learners have to have "differentiated learning". Give examples as to how you can make it work.

Good Luck:)

4. Tek

Tek Comrade

Jun 25, 2012

Good luck! I'm 10 years your junior and I am also involved in a 1st grade hiring basis tomorrow. I passed the interview stage so now I'll be teaching a 10 minute segment. Good luck to both of us :)

5. Kinderfriend

Kinderfriend Rookie

Jun 25, 2012

-Use 5 adjectives to describes who you are.
    -How can you differentiate to meet the needs of the students in your classroom?
    -How can you make sure that you reached the goal(s) of the lesson?

Be confident and keep a positive attitude.
    Good Luck

6. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 26, 2012

Good luck!