Interviewing in a district I already work for

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by adf0625, Sep 14, 2015.

1. adf0625

adf0625 Rookie

Sep 14, 2015

So i have been working in one district for a few years as a per diem substitute. I did a short leave replacement there (but didn't have to interview for it because it was somewhat informal and unfortunately wasn't long enough to qualify for leave replacement pay)and it went pretty well. I also student taught in this school and thought things were going well for me there. I got an opportunity to interview for a formal leave replacement position with the chairperson, whom i had met before and prior to this interview, seemed to be impressed with my work. The the interview came and I completely bombed it and i feel like i made a fool of myself. As a result, I did not get the job. Now I feel awkward continuing to sub at this school. Is this unreasonable? Did I blow any chance I ever had of getting a job in this district? I was also so embarrassed that I did not send a thank you note, which i now regret. Now what do I do?

3. Bunnie

Bunnie Devotee

Sep 14, 2015

Considering its Long Island, if they gave you one shot and you blew it as you say, then yeah you may not get another chance unless you get a position elsewhere and come back with some experience.

Can I ask what made you feel you blew it?

As you know LI is extremely competitive with hundreds if not thousands of teachers applying for one position.

I would expand your horizons and sub at other districts or even in the city. I would apply to any open positions at any school, charter, public, private within a reasonable commuting distance.

4. pommom

pommom Comrade

Sep 14, 2015