Interviewing for Preschool

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by SittinInATree, Aug 18, 2008.

1. SittinInATree

SittinInATree Companion

Aug 18, 2008

Hello! I am interviewing for a preschool position this week. It is for a private school that is well known in my area and has a great reputation. They have twos, threes, fours and Kindergarten. I would like to be in Kindergarten since I taught that before (in a public school) but the interview is for twos, which is fine. I think twos would be fun, although I have no experience with that. I was wondering what to expect in the interview? They said after they ask me some questions that they will let me observe the classes (which is just playcare this week and next until school starts) but really they will most likely be observing me with the kids.

What kinds of things are two-year-olds learning these days? I would assume colors, number recognition, letter recognition, name recognition, motor skills... would you agree with that? Is there anything else that I missed?

What kinds of center activities do you have for two year olds?

How would two and three year old classes differ?

Are there any good books for me that you would recommend?

What should I wear? I normally have a strict suit-only policy for interviews (LOL) but since I will be working with the kids for a couple hours, that might not work out so well. I was thinking nice pants and maybe a short-sleeved sweater or nice blouse and ncie shoes. Would that be ok?