Interview Question I Feel I Bombed...

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by hep223, Jul 11, 2014.

1. hep223

hep223 Companion

Jul 11, 2014

I had an interview a few weeks ago that I thought went well, but there is one question really sticking in my mind that I can't let go how I answered. I did not get the position. :( So to prevent myself from answering in this way again, help me better wording. (I know we have the interview question board, but that doesn't help us figure out the way to answer really well!)

Question: Why should our district hire you?

My response (and please don't shame me for this): "Please do not take my answer as conceited because I don't mean for it to come across that way, but I am a great teacher and I won't disappoint you. I go above and beyond for my students and want them all to succeed." I added more after this, but can't remember what else I said.

Help- how do you answer this question?

3. MissPapa

MissPapa Comrade

Jul 12, 2014

I would explain how you would go above and beyond for your students. I would also explain that you are responsible, caring, and engaged in educating students. Maybe also say you feel that your qualifications and skills make you a great asset to their team.

I'd drop the whole "conceited" comment. They are looking for optimism and positive can-do attitudes. Having that word in there just doesn't sound right.

Use more positive words rather than "I won't disappoint you" or "I don't mean to sound conceited", it goes a long way. Trust me.

4. future3rdteach

future3rdteach New Member

Jul 12, 2014

Maybe you should remove the "please do not take my answer as conceited..." They won't. They ask you this question so that you can brag on yourself and they can gauge your confidence in yourself. Prefacing it with that can make it seem like you are uncertain about yourself. Also, I don't know what else you said, but make sure you have brief details about how you go above and beyond for your students.