Interview Question Help

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by ajd5160, Jan 17, 2008.

1. ajd5160

ajd5160 Rookie

Jan 17, 2008

I've been teaching in an inner city PSA for 2 years. I am ready to move on to (hopefully) a suburban public school, but I am dreading one potential interview question:

"Why are you seeking new employment?" or "Why are you leaving your current position", or any other variation of this question.

I don't even know if I would be asked something like this, but I want to be prepared.

I don't want to sound like I hate my current job, or that I can't handle it, or that I don't expect the same types of problems that I am currently facing at a new school. I think that there is probably something better out there than the lame "I am looking for new opportunities" answer.

Any help or suggestions would be helpful!

Thanks.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Jan 19, 2008

Usually honesty is best, particularly when it is presented diplomatically. Why are you leaving?

4. missred4190

missred4190 Comrade

Jan 20, 2008

The fact is that most teachers are stronger in certain areas, in certain environments, ect. I am working in a more urban setting, and I love it. But I know that they have a high turnover rate too because many teachers are just not cut out for that. Maybe you could answer:

"My previous position was very meaningful and challenging. Although I enjoyed it, I never quite felt at home, and I know that being completely comfortable in the teaching environment is a must if you are going to be the most effective teacher possible. I feel that this job is a much better fit for me and that I would be a great asset to your campus/district."