Interview Question Help

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Chelseacat12, May 30, 2018.

1. Chelseacat12

Chelseacat12 Rookie

May 30, 2018

Hi! I was recently in an interview for an elementary teacher position and I got a question that I was unsure of since I'm a recent college grad. They gave me a scenario: A scathing parent emails you at 10:30 at night upset over something that happened in class that day. What do you do? This question was followed by: Would you involve administration?
    I was stuck on this because I was told by a fellow elementary teacher to always apologize to parents to calm them down, but when I said this in the interview they did not seem like that. I'd love to hear how other teachers would answer this question, or what type of answer they would be looking for. Thanks!

3. monsieurteacher

monsieurteacher Aficionado

May 30, 2018

My answer would be to not respond right away. I would most likely forward it to admin, if only to give a heads up that someone might be on the war path. An apology may be warranted, but that would depend on the situation. The best thing you could do is give an example of what you would do given a specific scenario. If they were upset about a mistake that I had made, I would apologize, if they were upset because of something that a student said about me, I would clear up the misunderstanding, or look into it.

Chelseacat12 and bella84 like this.
  4. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

May 31, 2018