Interview Length

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by kellian1, Jun 7, 2012.

1. kellian1

kellian1 Rookie

Jun 7, 2012

Interview Length?

Hi everyone,

Been lurking around this site for a few years and finally took the plunge :)

Anyway, I'm a new teacher, just got my certification a few months ago (social studies, yes I know should have gone math or science). I'm also a bit of an older new teacher (mid-late 30's).

I just had an interview with a school district that seemed pretty short to me. I've only been on 1 other teaching interview so far, and the previous one was with 3 people and was about 30-40 minutes.

This interview was the the department head, and went a little something like this:

I was told what subjects they were looking for, they told me a little about the position, then asked me the following

"tell me a little about yourself" - I tried to keep it short and we had a pretty ok back and forth but I could tell I was overexcited and probably talked a little to much. I was then asked what subjects I student taught, and was asked how my student teaching was and how it ended.

I basically answered the student teacher questions by saying how I taught, how the kids responded and what they felt like my last day or so there.I was then asked if I had any questions, I had one, and that was it. The whole thing was maybe 10-15 minutes (and that includes the question I asked).

I was told that the first interview is a "power interview" (I don't know what that is). I ended the interview by giving my electronic portfolio and that was it.

I have absolutely no read on how it went, the shortness is concerning. It did seem like the interviewer attended the same college I did as they knew alot about it, and perhaps even did their student teaching at the same school I did. As I mentioned both I got nods of approval as if they had familiarity with it.