Interview Help- Professionalism?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Pumpkin0926, May 31, 2018.

1. Pumpkin0926

Pumpkin0926 Rookie

May 31, 2018

Good morning everyone!

So I already know the basic answer to this question, but I would like some feedback from others and your opinions/advice!

I have EXTREMELY sensitive skin and it breaks out with any product I use other than my skin care- aka makeup of any kind. It sucks. What sucks even more is that I suffer from pretty gnarly adult acne right now that will not go away. I already look like I am a high school freshman... (I am a mere 4'11 petite 23 year old) so adding this teenage looking face does not help. At all.

Obviously it's crucial to be professional and make a good first impression, but is putting on makeup really that necessary? I know that appearance is a BIG part of the interview, but I dress rather professional to begin, and as much as I would love to look the part face-wise, I cannot risk the consequences and pain of putting makeup on. My skin burns, itches, and I am just plain uncomfortable.

This being said, I am perfectly comfortable in my own skin. I have confidence in myself whether or not I have this skin concern that makes me look "gross." I would not be ashamed to go to interviews bare faced- because in the end it's all about me as a person and being an effective teacher, not my looks. (right? :oops:)

What do you all think of this? What should I do...

3. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Virtuoso

May 31, 2018

I know as many teachers who don't wear makeup as those who do. I don't see it as a big deal. I pay more attention to how someone carries him/herself and whether their overall appearance is neat & clean.

bella84 and ms.irene like this.
  4. Always__Learning

Always__Learning Comrade

May 31, 2018

I wouldn't worry about not wearing make up. I don't wear make up and never have to interviews. I just don't believe in make up.

5. ms.irene

ms.irene Connoisseur

May 31, 2018