Interruptions!!!

Discussion in 'Preschool' started by myKroom, Dec 4, 2006.

1. myKroom

myKroom Habitué

Dec 4, 2006

This is my first year teaching and boy do I have a handful!! The biggest problem I am having is keeping my kids quiet while I am trying to teach! When I am introducing a new idea or a new letter I understand and don't have a problem with their enthusiasm and excitement!! I start getting frustrated when I begin explaining/showing them what to do. It's during those routine times, giving directions, sharing, etc. that it really bothers me. It doesn't matter the length of the lesson, it could be opening, a story, math, reading, etc. They constantly interrupt me, have side conversations, and play around with the kids near them. At least once a week I have to have a talk with them about how their interrupting is disrespectful to me, other teachers, and each other. I have tried enforcing consequences to individuals, I have tried enforcing consequences to the whole group...nothing seems to phase them. I have also tried some positive reenforcement but need some more ideas. If you have anything that may help, please let me know...Thanks a bunch!!

3. LakeSophie

LakeSophie Comrade

Dec 4, 2006

I just stop & say "when I am talking..." and the kids respond with " we are listening" It's usually enough to remind them to stop talking & listen.

Or I'll stop & ask "Do our ears listen well if our mouths are talking?" They usually say "No". My response is then " Well, then please silently remind your mouth to be quiet".

Reasoning has little effect on my 1st graders. I doubt it would work well for your kids. You need to just keep reminding them ( & be consistent about it) that they need to be quiet when you are talking. The more consistent you are about your procedures & rules, the happier your classroom will be. (I'm a 1st yr teacher too. It's the motto of my mentor)

4. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Dec 4, 2006